And Then My Hope Was Restored!

I’ve had eight doctor’s appointments in the past two weeks. While I could tell you about the pain clinic (insighful!), or the new diet they put me on (Paleo!), or even the new hippie body and energy work I’m doing (craniosacral and moxibustion!), I’m not going to. Instead, I am going to use this sacred blogging space to tell you something else.

You guys! THEY HAVE LIGHT-UP SPECULUMS!

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 11.25.48 AMThey’re practically lightsabers.

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 11.17.49 AM

Maybe you knew this. Maybe you, unlike me, are brave during your exam. But I, probably unlike you, throw my arms over my face and pretend that no one can see me until it’s over. But the lightsaber/speculum made me crack up. To the point that my doctor was all, “Um, you really have to stop shaking and laughing now.”

"I am your doctor!"

“I am your doctor!”

Then she added, “You know, This is harder with a moving target.” For some reason that was sobering. So I attempted to control my laughter. I attempted to study the poster on the ceiling of a roly-poly puppy trying to climb over a low stone wall. The phrase, “You can do it!” was in bold at the bottom. And I thought about how the last few months had really kind of sucked health wise. Lots of pain, trouble walking, no energy. The same stuff that always comes and goes. I looked at that poster and thought, I can do it! I can be that dog and get over the wall!

No, not really. What I actually thought was how I hate inspirational posters. But that thought was closely followed by, Huh. A light-up speculum. Who knows what they’ll think up next!? And that, my friends, is the medical community providing hope (and light!) in the darkness that is chronic illness. Sort of.

Clearly, I’ll take my hope wherever I can get it.

5 thoughts on “And Then My Hope Was Restored!

  1. mysticallunarose

    Laughing with you on this one!!! I would also like to Thank You for the head’s up on the ‘Saber’ as I am due for a check up very soon, I will try very hard not to laugh so hard the doc can’t get his/her job done….sighs LOL ;~)

    Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      Yes, apparently still and quiet is best. Not as fun, but medically best. Best wishes with your check up!

      Reply
  2. Moongazer

    I’m due a check soon too. But I doubt my doc has something so up to date lol. We can be a bit behind the times in the UK sometimes.
    The paleo diet is supposed to be brilliant for FM. But I am allergic to fish, nuts and seeds so that makes it very hard for me as many fruits are out the question too. Let us know how you get on with it 🙂

    Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      You know, I asked if it was a new invention and apparently they’ve been around for years! I guess doctors don’t usually turn them on until they’re, uh, in position. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

