Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday: The GF Train

In a grumpy, shuffling my feet, not-exactly-happy-about-it kind of way, today’s thing that helps is (long, dramatic sigh) a gluten free diet. I was GF and sugar free from last August until, oh, about Valentine’s Day. You know, THE CHOCOLATE HOLIDAY. Totally fell off the wagon. But instead of just falling off once, I decided that I needed to “practice eating gluten” for my trip to Italy in March. Was I going to go to Italy and NOT eat pasta and pizza? No. No, I was not. I ate gluten. And it was good. So I decided I was fine. I decided that gluten doesn’t actually affect me, thank you very much.

We’ve been back from Italy for about a month and I’ve been wondering why I’m extra sluggish. Extra crabby. Extra not-so-good-in-the-stomach-y. “Hm,” I thought to myself as I ate another piece of sourdough toast with blueberry jam, “I wonder why I don’t feel so good.” “Hm,” I said out loud to my husband after eating a plate full of pesto pasta, “I wonder why I feel so yucky and bloated.” “Don’t ever use the word bloated,” my husband replied. So then I an entire chocolate bunny. You know, just to settle everything down.

Then I read this post by my friend Sara, and said, “Duh.” To myself. OF COURSE eating gluten was hurting me. OF COURSE eating sugar was hurting me. Of course of course of course. It wasn’t making me horribly can’t-get-out-of-bed ill, but it was wrecking havoc on my energy and on my mood.

So I’ve gone back to being (mostly) sugar free. Everyone needs a little ice cream now and again. But I’m still trying to get back on the GF train. I know a lot of it is habit. I just have to get back the habit of eating GF. I have to plan out my meals and have GF snacks on hand. So today I go forth to Whole Foods with the week’s meal plan and a list of healthy, GF foods. I’m going to try and get back on the train! Go GF! Choo choo!

What’s your best GF snack or recipe?

4 thoughts on “Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday: The GF Train

  1. Janet Wagner

    It affects me the same way. I just try to not eat anything pre-packaged. I still eat dark chocolate though, there is a limit!

    Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      Mmmmm. Dark chocolate. Have you tried the Lake Champlain ones with sea salt? Sooooooooo gooooooooood. xo

      Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      You did! 🙂 But isn’t it sooooo good?! I need to get Demetri to make it again for me. Everything tastes even better when someone else makes it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

