Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday: Flowers

Yesterday I bought myself flowers. And you know what? It helped. The winter has been long and cold and gray. We finally have bright green shoots pushing up through the dirt in our yard and they give me hope. But they aren’t flowers. Not yet. So I bought myself the brightest flowers I could find. I arranged the bouquet in the cart so when I was walking around the store, they warmed my face with color, just like the sun. While I bought my other groceries – oranges, spinach, almond milk — my eyes were filled up with flowers. When I came home and walked through the front door, I cradled the flowers in the crook of my arm.

Zoey immediately ran up to me shrieking with joy, “Oooooh! Mommy! What are those?”

“Special spring flowers!” I declared with a smile.

“But why? Who are they for?” she was bouncing up and down.

“For me. I bought them for me. Sometimes we all deserve to treat ourselves to something that makes us happy.”

Zoey nodded solemnly and said, “Like joy. Everyone should get ourselves some joy.” And she began to pet the flower petals one by one.

My smile widened and my eyes pricked with tiny tears. The happiest of tears. Because there was a time when I thought I didn’t deserve flowers. There was a time when I never would have bought something bright and beautiful for myself. But not now. Not in this season. Now, in this spring, I am letting everything be new. And my daughter sees me doing it.

What are you doing that brings you joy? What have you treated yourself to lately?

gerber flower

 

 

6 thoughts on “Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday: Flowers

  1. Sandee Decker

    What makes me happy is seeing you happy,  dear daughter!!  So glad you are in a good place right now. Love, Mom

    Reply
  2. Janet Wagner

    Good for you, I bought myself flowers last week too! Only I did it because our spring is already over and I needed to cheer myself up because I am so dreading the long hot summer. It is already in the 90’s.

    Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      Yuck. 90’s is too hot. I like mid-70’s and sunny. But flowers make me smile in any weather!

      Reply
  3. Kate

    There are so many reasons why I love this post: I love the way that your write and how I can hear your voice speaking the words as I read it (but that’s true of all of your work), I love hearing that you are doing something for yourself which you so deserve, I love Zoeys response and getting glimpses into how she sees the world, and I love that you challenged me to think a little differently today and reminded me to model self care for my girls. Thank you!

    Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      Wow! Thank you! That’s a lot of amazing compliments! This makes me feel even better than the flowers! xo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

