Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday: A New Feature!

I’ve decided that every* Monday will hence forth be known on this blog as Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday.  I will post something that has helped me manage my day to day fight with chronic illness a tad bit more gracefully. It could be anything — a meditation, a yoga pose, a massage ball, a lightsaber, a recipe, fuzzy socks. Whatever. It will all be stuff that I use and not stuff that people pay me to write about. (So GET BACK all of you marketers that are trying to get me to advertise your products! BACK all zero of you!!)

Without further ado, today’s Obi-Wan Kenobi (OWK) is: Breakfast Oatmeal Cupcakes To Go from Chocolate Covered Katie

  • 5 cups rolled oats (400g)
  • 2 1/2 cups over-ripe mashed banana (about 10 bananas) measured after mashing (600g)
  • 1 tsp salt
  •  5 tbsp liquid sweetener of choice–such as pure maple syrup or agave
  • 2 cups water (640g) (I lessened this slightly from the original recipe)
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp oil (45g) (I really like coconut, but veg oil will also work. For lower-fat substitution notes, see nutrition link below.)
  • 2 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • optional add-ins: cinnamon, 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips, shredded coconut, chopped walnuts, ground flax or wheat germ, raisins or other dried fruit, etc. (I use cinnamon, raisins, and coconut)

Preheat oven to 380 F, and line 24-25 cupcake tins. In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients and stir very well. In a separate bowl, combine and stir all wet ingredients (including banana). Mix wet into dry, then pour into the cupcake liners and bake 21 minutes. I also like to then broil for 1-2 minutes, but it’s optional. These oatmeal cakes can be eaten right away, or they can be frozen and reheated for an instant breakfast on a busy day.

How I use them: I bake them and then freeze them all. Microwave for 30 seconds and they’re a warm and yummy breakfast. Zoey even eats them!

How they help: These little guys make mornings so much easier at my house. I can zap a muffin and cut up a banana for Z’s breakfast and she loves it. Minimal use of energy and time. Plus, there’s no fighting and whining. They are also an easy, healthy go-to snack.  They’re GF so even I can enjoy them! And . . . bonus! . . . I have not yet injured myself making them!

Thanks, Chocolate Covered Katie!

*I’m using this term loosely. Read as: every-Monday-that-I-remeber-and-have-energy-and-am-able-to-use-my-limbs

6 thoughts on “Obi-Wan Kenobi Monday: A New Feature!

    1. joslyne Post author

      Yay! I’m so glad! I have not yet put chocolate chips in mine because, well, I would eat them all in one day. But the coconut is awesome!

      Reply
  1. kate cotton

    I look forward to the wisdom of Obi-Wan. Especially on Mondays. And I will definitely be making those muffins! 🙂

    Reply
    1. joslyne Post author

      Thanks, Jules! It’s good to know that muffins count as “nurturing.” I’ve got to score points wherever I can! xoxox

      Reply

Leave a Reply

