Vote for the New Tagline

Time to vote for the brand spankin’ new Zozo’s Mom tagline! Here are the ones I picked:

If you can HANDLE the truth

Not only does this one reference a quote from “A Few Good Men” (a movie before Tom Cruise went wackadoo), it also points to something I strongly believe in.  Mainly, that when we don’t tell the truth about parenthood – about how hard and frustrating and messy it is — we do a great injustice to one another.  Saying that everything is rainbows and butterflies all the time is not only wrong, but it hurts us.  All of us.  It creates more pressure to be perfect in every decision we make and every interaction we have. It sets us up to fail.  Why, hello there feelings of guilt, shame, and anger!  And for those of us who eat our feelings, we then gain 15 – 20 pounds and feel even worse.  So: TELL THE TRUTH.  You can do it gently, kindly, softly.  You can do it while holding someone’s hand. But tell it.

The world according to Zozo

I like this one for two reasons. First, it reminds me of one of my favorite books and favorite authors, “The World According to Garp” by John Irving. Second, it’s just so gosh darn true.  My world has become Zoey — I see things and feel things through a Zoey filter.  There’s more joy and more pain and way more fear than I ever imagined.  But, oh mama! The love! And, let’s be honest, Zoey is the center of the universe.  At least in our house.

Chronicles of chaos, catastrophe, and . . . other stuff

Ok, so I tweaked this one a little bit.  But I’m loving the chaos and catastrophe part.  It has a nice ring to it.  Sadly, it’s also true.  You should have been at our house for bedtime last night. It was ugly. U-G-L-Y. Things were thrown (including a lamp), Daddy was hit (not by me), and the screaming was . . . evident (to everyone within a two block radius).

And now a word on why I am not picking Almost losing our shit on a daily basis (which was a favorite in the comment section). See, here’s the thing: I just got my Dad to start reading this blog — he would like you all to know that he is often “unfairly portrayed”.  Also, my Dad  is not a fan of the word ‘shit’.  Or ‘crap’.  Or the F-one. In fact, every time I use an unsavory word in the blog we have “a discussion” about it.  A not particularly enjoyable discussion.  So if I use ‘shit’ in the tagline . . . I may be disowned.

Moving On.

You have a week to vote and you can vote more than once.

 

4 thoughts on “Vote for the New Tagline

  1. Amber Burgin Hoyle

    I’m voting for “Chronicles of chaos, catastrophe, and…other stuff” because it goes best with the title “ZoZo’s Mom”. I really like “The World According to ZoZo” but it doesn’t sounds right altogether.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

